Sunday, August 16, 2009

The Rules

Before I just start entering movies into The Horror Canon, there needs to be a certain set of guidelines. These are the prerequisites for which all nominees must meet:

1) The film being nominated must adhere to the definition of a horror film: a film that strives to elicit the emotions of fear, horror and terror from viewers.

2) The film being nominated must be 5 years past its theatrical release date (or 5 years past its home video release date for direct to video titles).

3) The film being nominated must be feature length (defined as over 40 minutes).

4) The film being nominated must be in its originally released form. This is defined as a film's version that is passed by the Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA). For nominees that have not been reviewed by the MPAA, it is the version of the film originally released into theaters in its country of origin, or as originally released direct-to-video (This also applies to nominees that were originally released outside of the United States, but were then recut in order to be passed by the MPAA for American audiences). In the event that the film being nominated was released before the MPAA, or was given a certificate of "Not Rated," this is the version of the film that will be reviewed.

So, there they are. The rules...

No comments:

Post a Comment